edrefa.blogg.se

Perception swifty deluxe 115
Perception swifty deluxe 115







perception swifty deluxe 115

Although I have two other kayaks, I find this one to be my first choice 98% of the time, partly due to its somewhat lighter 44 lb weight.

perception swifty deluxe 115

The Expression 11.5 is perfect for use on our local WV lakes and quiet streams. All in all I'm very happy with this little kayak! Not a big deal if it's just you using it but it would be a hassle if different people were in and out of it. My only negative point is that the footpegs don't have extensions on them to enable them to be adjusted while in the boat you have to adjust them before getting in. I'm 6'0" and 170 pounds and fit easily in the boat and I don't have the footpegs set all the way forward indicating a taller person would fit as well. The 44 pound weight is very reasonable and cartopping the boat is no problem. I have enough room in the cockpit for a couple items including a small dry bag behind the seat.

perception swifty deluxe 115

The boat feels very stable though I don't push my luck with testing that out. The skeg is very helpful for photography and bird-watching since, like most smaller kayaks, the boat will turn into the wind when you stop paddling. I have no trouble paddling it in a straight line when it's calm out and when the breeze picks up the skeg can be lowered to minimize fighting the wind. I've been paddling for five years in a much longer kayak and the Perception Expression's size makes it very maneuverable which has made exploring small inlets and coves a lot of fun. I've been out kayaking in this boat five times now. It is a well built, feature rich kayak that will serve me well for many years to come! I have been paddling it now for a couple of seasons. For me, this boat is a perfect crossover. This boat serves a primary use as a day-tripper, since I still own another kayak for extended touring and rougher, bigger water conditions, though this boat could be used for a night out on the river with room in the stern hatch and copious amount of space up in the bow for dry bags. Also, the skeg does not need to be fully deployed to be effective, just drop what is needed to keep tracking in check. With the included skeg, this boat tracks like an arrow when conditions are right to use it. It paddles extremely well in calm to faster moving water, wind and chop, and even in big lake rollers. Paddling small to large inland lakes, streams and rivers, and even our Great Lakes. I live in Michigan and primarily use it around our State. I had been looking to purchase a kayak that could perform well in many paddling conditions. I think this is a unique kayak filling a market niche that other manufacturers have missed. My modifications have shifted the focus closer to touring kayak and away from rec kayak. It is really a great kayak and fun to paddle.

perception swifty deluxe 115

I added a float bag sourced from NRS to the bow to increase flotation and displace water in case of a capsize. It forces you to use better paddling mechanics and makes it easier to use a spray skirt and facilitates self rescues. I replaced it with a back band sourced from Perception that I find more comfortable than the high back seat. I don't like the high back seat because it interferes with spray skirts and gets in the way if you have to do a self rescue. It is far more capable than the typical rec kayak, being built like a touring kayak. It also makes it very maneuverable and agile while the drop-down skeg makes it track straight and true, something that many short kayaks don't do well. Its small size and light weight make it easy to handle, transport and launch.









Perception swifty deluxe 115